प्रहरी कन्ट्रोल : १००, टोल फ्री नं.: १६६००१४१५१६

Madhesh Province of Nepal lies in the South Eastern part of Nepal. It is the second largest Populace Province of Nepal (A total number of 5,404,145 - Census 2011) and smallest Province in area (9,661 km2). It is bordered by No. 1 Province to the North-East, Bagmati Province to the North-west and international boarder of India to the south. The Province comprises of 8 District, 1 Metropolitan-city, 3 Sub metropolitan-city, 73 Municipality and 59 Rural Municipality.



Janakpur is the capital-city of Madhesh Province, also known as Janakpurdham. It is the centre for religious and cultural tourism of Nepal. It is also believed to have been the capital of the Videha dynasty that ruled Mithila region in ancient times. The city of Janakpur, 135 kilometers (84 miles) southeast of Kathmandu, capital city Nepal, is commonly famous as the birthplace of the Hindu Goddess Sita, as well as being the site where she was married to Lord Ram.

This Province has a diversified cultural, ethnic and socio-economic structure. People of different castes reside in this Province; such as Yadav, Teli, Brahmins, Kyastha, Tharu, Musahar, Rajput, Chhetri and so on. Nepali, Maithili, Bhojpuri and other indigenous and local languages are spoken in the Province.

Festivals of Vivaha Panchami, Vijayadashami, Dipawali, Chhath Puja, Holi and many other festivals are celebrated in this region.


 Madhesh Province In Brief

East  Sunsari District (No. 1 Province) 
West  Chitwan District (Bagmati Province)
North Makwanpur District (Bagmati Province)
South Bihar, India
Area 9,661 Sq. Km.
Total Population 5,404,145
Number of District 8 (Siraha, Saptari, Dhanusha, Mahotari, Sarlahi, Rautahat, Bara, Parsa)
Metropolitan City 1
Sub- Metropolitan City 3
Municipality 73
Rural Municipality 59